Skip to main content

Book Review: Here Is The Beehive by Sarah Crossan

 * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *





Title: Here is the Beehive
Author: Sarah Crossan
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Source: NetGalley

(Bookshop UKHive Goodreads | Storygraph)


Book Summary:

A brilliantly original debut about a love affair cut short, and how lonely it is to live inside a secret -- for fans of Sally Rooney, Sheila Heti, and Ottessa Moshfegh.

Ana Kelly can deal with death. As an estate lawyer, an unfortunate part of her day-to-day is phone calls from the next of kin informing her that one of her clients has died. But nothing could have prepared Ana for the call from Rebecca Taylor, explaining in a strangely calm tone that her husband Connor was killed in an accident.

Ana had been having an affair with Connor for three years, keeping their love secret in hotel rooms, weekends away, and swiftly deleted text messages. Though consuming, they hide their love well, and nobody knows of their relationship except Mark, Connor's best friend.

Alone and undone, Ana seeks friendship with the person who she once thought of as her adversary and opposite, but who is now the only one who shares her pain -- Rebecca. As Ana becomes closer to her lover's widow, she is forced to reconcile painful truths about the affair, and the fickleness of love and desire.

Funny, frank, and strange, Sarah Crossan's moving novel is wholly original and deeply resonant.

Book Review:

I have loved a lot of Sarah Crossan's books, especially her books in verse so when I saw that she was releasing a book for adults, I jumped at the chance to review it. While there were parts of this book that I found enjoyable, Here Is The Beehive fell a little flat for me but I will still read any other books she releases. 

First I'm going to start with the negatives so we can get to the stuff that I did like. Overall, I think that the book was always going to be something that I didn't like but I still wanted to support the author as I am not a massive fan of cheating, which is a massive part of the book. When it takes up so much space in the story it can distract from what good there is. 

Sarah Crossan obviously knows how to write prose and poetry and this is still evident in the book but I still had some problems with it. Ana's voice is very distinctive which I can argue is a good thing because throughout I think she is a compelling character that the reader has to root for but I don't think that this happens throughout. 

I found at times that Ana's voice came across as uninteresting and I didn't really want to follow her as a character in a story I didn't really care about. For me, characters are everything and when I can't connect to a character, I can't connect with the book. 

This comes hand in hand with the writing which I did for the most part enjoy. Sarah Crossan knows how to craft words and verse and this is still evident throughout the book and was obviously part of why I carried on reading. It is also really short so that is also why I continued. 

But I have been hooked on her writing before. I have stayed up way too late reading her books before. I know she can hook me as a reader but this just didn't do it which is so disappointing and it, in fact, took me a while to finish this one. 

Maybe I just had too high expectations for this book but I know there are going to be people who love it. I just wasn't one of them. 

I will of course still support Sarah Crossan in the future because I know I can love her books!

The Verdict:

Here Is The Beehive is a book that deals with cheating perfectly and should find its audience and those who love it.

Have you read Here Is The Beehive? If so, what did you think? Do you want to? Let me know in the comments.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Goddess Aditi: Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review * Title:  Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You   Authors: Ann Shen Source: Blog Tour Publisher: Abram  Rating: 4/5 stars ( Goodreads | Amazon) Book Summary: Throughout History comes this lushly illustrated book of goddesses from around the world. Aphrodite, the Greek goddess whose love overcame mortality. Mazu, the Chinese deity who safely guides travelers home. Lakshmi, the Hindu provider of fortune and prosperity. These powerful deities and many more are celebrated in gorgeous artwork and enlightening essays that explore the feminine divine and encourage readers to empower themselves. Ann Shen's signature watercolors make Legendary Ladies a unique, gift-worthy homage to the mighty women within. As part of this blog tour, each post will focus on a specific "Legendary Lady" or Goddess and for my stop, I will focus on A

Female Representation in Harry Potter: A Transcription

Considering this keeps gaining attention, I just wanted to clarify that I no longer support J.K. Rowling and the Harry Potter series. I'm not sure why people are clicking on this but, the views in this post do not reflect my current views and I only posted it on my blog so that it could be shared as not many people came to the event when it first happened.  So later today, in 2 hours I am going to be doing a presentation on Female Representation in Harry Potter for my university's Harry Potter Society and I thought some of you may be interested in what I had to say. I also respect that people may disagree with my views on the subject and understand that this is not the only opinion you can have. So here it is... Hello, everyone. Thank you for coming! Today I am going to discuss female representation in Harry Potter books and films. The aims of this presentation would be to introduce you to the fact that female representation in Harry Potter may not be what it seems. So you

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review * Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source:  From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating:  2/5 stars Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from  Goodreads : With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe.  Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his