Skip to main content

Posts

Book Review: Punching The Air by Ibi Zoboi & Yusef Salaam

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: Punching The Air Author: Ibi Zoboi & Yusef Salaam  Publisher: HarperCollins Source: NetGalley ( Bookshop UK |  Hive  |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: The story that I thought was my life didn’t start on the day I was born Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, he’s seen as disruptive and unmotivated by a biased system. Then one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighbourhood escalates into tragedy. “Boys just being boys” turns out to be true only when those boys are white. The story that I think will be my life starts today Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal’s bright future is upended: he is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his s

Book Review: Counting Stars by Keris Stainton

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: Counting Stars Author: Keris Stainton Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Netgalley ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: Big city, big dreams, no money, no problem... Six 'friends', one flat, big dreams... what could go wrong? When eighteen-year-old Anna leaves school and moves to Liverpool, she feels like her life is finally beginning. She's landed her dream job at a theatre, and she's moving into an exciting (if not slightly run-down) flat on a buzzing street lined with shops, bars, and buskers. Best of all, her new flatmates are kind, welcoming and a lot of fun - what more could she ask for? But although her new life is fun, it's also a little overwhelming. Anna's job quickly falls through, and then she realises that although her new friends are great, they're also a little mixed-up... an

Book Review: The Bookshop Girl by Chloe Coles

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: The Bookshop Girl Author: Chloe Coles Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Netgalley  ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: A hilarious tale of female friendship, bookshops and fighting for a cause - perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Louise Rennison. Bennett's Bookshop has always been a haven for sixteen-year-old Paige Turner. It's a place where she can escape from her sleepy hometown, hang out with her best friend, Holly, and also earn some money. But, like so many bookshops, Bennett's has become a 'casualty of the high street' - it's strapped for cash and going to be torn down. Paige is determined to save it but mobilising a small town like Greysworth is no mean feat. Time is ticking - but that's not the only problem Paige has. How is she going to fend off the attractions of beautiful fel

Mid Year Freakout Tag

So everyone loves this tag on Youtube and I have done it a couple of times before so I  thought that I would give it a go again this year! Also, I keep telling myself that I should do it! Although I'm a bit late as it is now July and I haven't been reading regularly because I have been a bit burnt out, I am still reading and those books deserve attention! This tag was created by ReadLikeWildFire (now Chami although the original video is no longer available for both) and  Ely Jayne . Let's get started... 1. Best book you've read this year so far? The Extraordinaries by T.J. Klune I have to admit that my reading has been a bit average this year, so even though it is one of the first books I read this year, The Extraordinaries by T.J. Klune is one of my favourites. I loved the comedy and the relationships and lots of the twists that took place. The sequel has just been released and I will definitely be getting to it soon! 2. Best sequel you've read this year so far Hea

6 Year Blog Anniversary

Every year I forget when my blog anniversary is even after six years! I know that it is in June but it is today the 15th of June!  A lot has happened in six years when I started this blog. Before my first blog post, I was going to university later that summer. Now I have a BA and MA degree! And I have tracked my progress all the way. It's a bit emotional to think about it!  I am so grateful were my blog. I enjoy the content that I make and in a year where I have basically stopped interacting with a lot of social media but my views are higher than ever. They have tripled in a year! I think this might because I have linked my blog on my job application and CVs so if you are a recruiter, Hi!  In other news, I have loved seeing the change in my content and hopefully see my writing progress and I hope that this continues. Since my first year, I hoped to track the changes in my blogging life and I love to see them. So let's get started...   Q1) Favourite Book Frankenstein by Mary She

What counts as writing?

I am a writer. For the longest time, I felt like this had to come with a caveat. I was an aspiring writer. Like I wasn't doing the act of writing already. It felt to me that what I was doing wasn't real. But it was. But it also depends on what you call writing. Is me writing this blog post writing? Those times when I go for a walk to the bus stop, thinking exactly what my main character is doing, is that writing? Me dreaming about a faraway world before sleep takes me, is that writing? Is the only thing that we can consider writing, the act of sitting there. The device in hand. The cursor blinking at you. Writer's block slowly creeping up on you. Within the reach and then you get blank page syndrome. No writing happens at all. So I think it's complicated. For me, without concrete ideas in place, writing can't happen. You do just stare at a blank page, waiting for inspiration to hit you in the face. So while I haven't written anything at all on my writing project

Book Review: Incredible Doom by Matthew Bogart & Jesse Holden

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *   Title: Incredible Doom Author: Matthew Bogart & Jesse Holden Publisher: HarperAlley Source: From Publisher ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: It’s the dawn of a new age…the age of the internet. Allison  is drowning under the weight of her manipulative stage magician father. When he brings home the family’s first computer, she escapes into a thrilling new world where she meets Samir, a like-minded new online friend who has just agreed to run away from home with her. After moving to a new town and leaving all of his friends behind,  Richard  receives a mysterious note in his locker with instructions on how to connect to “Evol BBS,” a dial-in bulletin board system, and meets a fierce punk named  Tina  who comes into his life and shakes his entire world view loose. Unlikely alliances, first love, and minor crime sprees