Skip to main content

Book Review: Rules For Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall

 * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *


Title: Rules For Vanishing
Author: Kate Alice Marshall
Publisher: Walker Books
Source: From Publisher

(Bookshop UKHiveGoodreads | Storygraph)

Book Summary:

Do you want to play the game?

Once a year, a road appears in the woods at midnight and the ghost of Lucy Gallows beckons, inviting those who are brave enough to play her game. If you win, you escape with your life. But if you lose...

It's almost a year since Becca went missing. Everyone else has given up searching for her, but her sister, Sara, knows she disappeared while looking for Lucy Gallows. Determined to find her, Sara and her closest friends enter the woods. But something more sinister than ghosts lurks on the road, and not everyone will survive.

Stranger Things meets The Blair Witch Project in this gripping ghost thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Lauren James and Frances Hardinge.

Book Review:

Not really being into horror, it has been a journey to see that I can actually read this book. For someone who has been scared of horror, Rules For Vanishing does deliver being a creepy and frightful read. A read where the lights must definitely be left on!

I think I was quite apprehensive when reading this because I know that I can stand horror but I was wondering how far it was going to do. So please be warned that this book is really creepy and I did get really sucked in.

This is obviously a massive credit to the writing which I was a massive fan of. Horror or not, it is clear that Kate Alice Marshall can write suspense and kept me on the edge of my seat.

When I started the book, I knew it was going to be something that I read in one sitting. I wanted to know what happened to all of the characters and I really enjoyed being creeped out. I had to stop at some points because it got to me so much.

I think a lot of this had to do with the characters and the writing style as it was written in past and present. I loved that all the cast had some type of connection because you really wanted to know that they all survived.

The characters are also all quite diverse and I believe the main character was bisexual. At the core of the story is really a sister relationship which I also want more in stories in general. Of course, I also loved it here too.

As I mentioned before, the book does have some mixed media, which I love in books. Here it is in the form of police interviews which I think added another layer to the story and kept the suspense throughout.

Basically, I really did love Rules for Vanishing and with a really diverse bibliography, I can't wait to see what Kate Alice Marshall does next. Of course, her blacklist is also ready and waiting for me to devour! 

The Verdict:

Rules For Vanishing is a delightfully dark and delicious tale that will have you creeping out of your skin. 

Have you read Rules For Vanishing? If so, what did you think? Do you want to? Let me know in the comments.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Favourite Graphic Novels & Manga of 2021

As I have read a lot of books this year, I always want to give graphic novels and manga their own celebration as they often get overlooked and do make up a lot of my reading. I also find that even though I read a lot of them, it takes a lot to convince me and make it a new favourite. So here are my best... Heartstopper Volume 4 by Alice Oseman  Like everyone on the internet, I too am a massive Heartstopper fan and Volume 4 is no different. I love the relationship of Nick and Charlie and the side characters also make the series. This one also explores the way that mental health can impact romance and it still does justice to the story and does not fall into cliches. I am eagerly anticipating the final volume but I don't want it to be over.  The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott by Zoe Thorogood One of the last graphic novels I read this year and the one that has the second amount of hype, The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott also leaves a lasting impression. I love a good Briti

Book Review: The Crossing by Manjeet Mann

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: The Crossing Author: Manjeet Mann Publisher: Penguin  Source: NetGalley ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: The trailblazing new novel from the Carnegie Medal shortlisted author of Run, Rebel. Praise for Run, Rebel - a Guardian best book of 2020: A tightly crafted series of punchy, often heartbreaking narrative poems . . . Mann's brilliant, coruscating verse novel lays out the anatomy of Amber's revolution, and the tentative first flowerings of hope and change. Guardian A trailblazing new novel about two teenagers from opposite worlds; The Crossing is a profound story of hope, grief, and the very real tragedies of the refugee crisis. Natalie's world is falling apart. She's just lost her mum and her brother marches the streets of Dover full of hate and anger. Swimming is her only refuge. Sammy has fl

Blog Tour: Goddess Aditi: Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review * Title:  Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You   Authors: Ann Shen Source: Blog Tour Publisher: Abram  Rating: 4/5 stars ( Goodreads | Amazon) Book Summary: Throughout History comes this lushly illustrated book of goddesses from around the world. Aphrodite, the Greek goddess whose love overcame mortality. Mazu, the Chinese deity who safely guides travelers home. Lakshmi, the Hindu provider of fortune and prosperity. These powerful deities and many more are celebrated in gorgeous artwork and enlightening essays that explore the feminine divine and encourage readers to empower themselves. Ann Shen's signature watercolors make Legendary Ladies a unique, gift-worthy homage to the mighty women within. As part of this blog tour, each post will focus on a specific "Legendary Lady" or Goddess and for my stop, I will focus on A