Skip to main content

Book Review: Rules For Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall

 * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *


Title: Rules For Vanishing
Author: Kate Alice Marshall
Publisher: Walker Books
Source: From Publisher

(Bookshop UKHiveGoodreads | Storygraph)

Book Summary:

Do you want to play the game?

Once a year, a road appears in the woods at midnight and the ghost of Lucy Gallows beckons, inviting those who are brave enough to play her game. If you win, you escape with your life. But if you lose...

It's almost a year since Becca went missing. Everyone else has given up searching for her, but her sister, Sara, knows she disappeared while looking for Lucy Gallows. Determined to find her, Sara and her closest friends enter the woods. But something more sinister than ghosts lurks on the road, and not everyone will survive.

Stranger Things meets The Blair Witch Project in this gripping ghost thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Lauren James and Frances Hardinge.

Book Review:

Not really being into horror, it has been a journey to see that I can actually read this book. For someone who has been scared of horror, Rules For Vanishing does deliver being a creepy and frightful read. A read where the lights must definitely be left on!

I think I was quite apprehensive when reading this because I know that I can stand horror but I was wondering how far it was going to do. So please be warned that this book is really creepy and I did get really sucked in.

This is obviously a massive credit to the writing which I was a massive fan of. Horror or not, it is clear that Kate Alice Marshall can write suspense and kept me on the edge of my seat.

When I started the book, I knew it was going to be something that I read in one sitting. I wanted to know what happened to all of the characters and I really enjoyed being creeped out. I had to stop at some points because it got to me so much.

I think a lot of this had to do with the characters and the writing style as it was written in past and present. I loved that all the cast had some type of connection because you really wanted to know that they all survived.

The characters are also all quite diverse and I believe the main character was bisexual. At the core of the story is really a sister relationship which I also want more in stories in general. Of course I also loved it here too.

As I mentioned before, the book does have some mixed media, which I love in books. Here it is in the form of police interviews which I think added another layer to the story and kept the suspense throughout.

Basically I really did love Rules for Vanishing and with a really diverse bibliography, I can't wait to see what Kate Alice Marshall does next. Of course her blacklist is also ready and waiting for me to devour! 

The Verdict:

Rules For Vanishing is a delightfully dark and delicious tale that will have you creeping out of your skin. 

Have you read Rules For Vanishing? If so, what did you think? Do you want to? Let me know in the comments.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Goddess Aditi: Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review * Title:  Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You   Authors: Ann Shen Source: Blog Tour Publisher: Abram  Rating: 4/5 stars ( Goodreads | Amazon) Book Summary: Throughout History comes this lushly illustrated book of goddesses from around the world. Aphrodite, the Greek goddess whose love overcame mortality. Mazu, the Chinese deity who safely guides travelers home. Lakshmi, the Hindu provider of fortune and prosperity. These powerful deities and many more are celebrated in gorgeous artwork and enlightening essays that explore the feminine divine and encourage readers to empower themselves. Ann Shen's signature watercolors make Legendary Ladies a unique, gift-worthy homage to the mighty women within. As part of this blog tour, each post will focus on a specific "Legendary Lady" or Goddess and for my stop, I will focus on A

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review * Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source:  From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating:  2/5 stars Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from  Goodreads : With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe.  Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his

Female Representation in Harry Potter: A Transcription

So later today, in 2 hours I am going to be doing a presentation on Female Representation in Harry Potter for my university's Harry Potter Society and I thought some of you may be interested in what I had to say. I also respect that people may disagree with my views on the subject and understand that this is not the only opinion you can have. So here it is... Hello, everyone. Thank you for coming! Today I am going to discuss female representation in Harry Potter books and films. The aims of this presentation would be to introduce you to the fact that female representation in Harry Potter may not be what it seems. So you may think that female characters are actually quite well done in the series but at some points, this is not the case. To look at this further I will be looking at characters individually as well as some aspects of the series in general. I guess that until I first researched the topic, I thought that of course, Harry Potter was going to have good female repres