Skip to main content

Book Review: The Bookshop Girl by Chloe Coles

 * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *



Title: The Bookshop Girl
Author: Chloe Coles
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Source: Netgalley 

(Bookshop UKHiveGoodreads | Storygraph)


Book Summary:

A hilarious tale of female friendship, bookshops and fighting for a cause - perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Louise Rennison.

Bennett's Bookshop has always been a haven for sixteen-year-old Paige Turner. It's a place where she can escape from her sleepy hometown, hang out with her best friend, Holly, and also earn some money.

But, like so many bookshops, Bennett's has become a 'casualty of the high street' - it's strapped for cash and going to be torn down. Paige is determined to save it but mobilising a small town like Greysworth is no mean feat.

Time is ticking - but that's not the only problem Paige has. How is she going to fend off the attractions of beautiful fellow artist, Blaine? And, more importantly, will his anarchist ways make or break her bookshop campaign?

Written by debut author and Foyles bookseller Chloe Coles, this is the first in a new laugh-out-loud and sparky teen series that will make you want to rush out and start your own bookshop campaign! 

Book Review:

I have been a fan of bookish books for the longest time, like a lot of bloggers and bookish people. The Bookshop Girl is a lighthearted and fun read that will definitely lead me to read more from Chloe Coles.

I had heard some great things about the Bookshop Girl and was interested by the premise so when I picked it up I was surprised. The book has a really great characters and world-building and even though this review is a little overdue, I still have memories about it.

With most books, I always love the plot and the characters and I think for a lot of book lovers, reading a book about saving a bookshop from closure is ideal read. I really enjoyed the reading about trying to save the bookshop and seeing how the plot came together.

I also really enjoyed Paige as a character, partly because her name is, Paige Turner and I love a good pun. But also because I feel like she has a great personality that leaps off the page.

I also love the relationship between those who work at the bookstore as well as her friends. I also liked the relationship with Paige and Blaine and seeing the highs and lows and in general, the antics that took place.

The Verdict:

The Bookshop Girl is an enjoyable and humorous story that will have you interested to read the sequel. 


Have you read The Bookshop Girl? If so, what did you think? Do you want to? Let me know in the comments.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Goddess Aditi: Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review * Title:  Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You   Authors: Ann Shen Source: Blog Tour Publisher: Abram  Rating: 4/5 stars ( Goodreads | Amazon) Book Summary: Throughout History comes this lushly illustrated book of goddesses from around the world. Aphrodite, the Greek goddess whose love overcame mortality. Mazu, the Chinese deity who safely guides travelers home. Lakshmi, the Hindu provider of fortune and prosperity. These powerful deities and many more are celebrated in gorgeous artwork and enlightening essays that explore the feminine divine and encourage readers to empower themselves. Ann Shen's signature watercolors make Legendary Ladies a unique, gift-worthy homage to the mighty women within. As part of this blog tour, each post will focus on a specific "Legendary Lady" or Goddess and for my stop, I will focus on A

Female Representation in Harry Potter: A Transcription

Considering this keeps gaining attention, I just wanted to clarify that I no longer support J.K. Rowling and the Harry Potter series. I'm not sure why people are clicking on this but, the views in this post do not reflect my current views and I only posted it on my blog so that it could be shared as not many people came to the event when it first happened.  So later today, in 2 hours I am going to be doing a presentation on Female Representation in Harry Potter for my university's Harry Potter Society and I thought some of you may be interested in what I had to say. I also respect that people may disagree with my views on the subject and understand that this is not the only opinion you can have. So here it is... Hello, everyone. Thank you for coming! Today I am going to discuss female representation in Harry Potter books and films. The aims of this presentation would be to introduce you to the fact that female representation in Harry Potter may not be what it seems. So you

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review * Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source:  From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating:  2/5 stars Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from  Goodreads : With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe.  Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his