Skip to main content

Book Review: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

Title: Extraordinary Means
Author: Robyn Schneider
Publication Date: 2015
Source: Purchased

Rating: 4.5/5 










Summary of Extraordinary Means from Goodreads:


A bitter-sweet, coming-of-age novel that's perfect for fans of John Green and Stephen Chbosky.
When he's sent to Latham House, a boarding school for sick teens, Lane thinks his life may as well be over.
But when he meets Sadie and her friends - a group of eccentric troublemakers - he realises that maybe getting sick is just the beginning. That illness doesn't have to define you, and that falling in love is its own cure.
Extraordinary Means is a darkly funny story about true friendships, ill-fated love and the rare miracle of second chances

Book Review Summary: 

After reading The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider in 2013, I fell in love with Robyn Schneider’s writing and her characters, therefore, having high hopes for any future releases. Extraordinary Means doesn’t disappoint tying together great and likeable characters with a captivating plot that is hard to put down.

Plot:

I had limited problems with the plot and liked the way the story progressed until the last 50 pages when I was on the verge of tears. Schneider did a wonderful job of tying a version of incurable TB (which doesn’t exist) with a coming-of-age story about self-discovery from Lane’s perspective who realises that school is not the most important thing in life. I also enjoyed the activities which Lane experiences in Latham with Sadie and her group of friends as it was well executed. Another strong point was how Lane’s and Sadie’s story with their friends and family evolves over the course of the book, showing in real terms how a contagious disease can affect the relationships about other non-contagious diseases. Finally, Schneider does a good job at incorporating social media into the novel as many contemporary novels don’t although very active in many teenagers’ lives today.

Overall: The plot of Extraordinary Means is well executed and developed but get the tissues at the ready for a sad and unexpected ending.    

Characters:

I enjoyed all the characters including the side characters as they were all well developed and enjoyable all having their own individuals traits but can be referred to like your average/ typical YA misfit characters having “weird” cosplay obsessions or sticking out of the crowd when in Latham or inside the school. By the end of the book, I enjoyed the characters but at the beginning, I didn’t like the way that Sadie interacted with Lane and found that her character was quite juvenile although she was sixteen. However, at the end of the book, I enjoyed the relationship between her at Lane and her personally and empathies with her. I also like Lane and had no problems with him and I enjoyed his character development over the course of the novel.

Overall: The characters in this novel are enjoyable but some of the side characters do full into the trap of your typical YA misfit.

Writing:

Robyn Schneider has very witty writing that reflects today’s society by including up to date references and embracing social media which I find rare in some of the more up to date YA contemporary releases. The characters have their own voices and are very different to each other which was very enjoyable to read about. I also enjoyed the references to Harry Potter and other films like Spirited Away as you can see her own personality through her writing by incorporating it in with the characters.

Overall: The writing of this book is well done and incorporates references that will engage the reader.

The Verdict: Robyn Schneider is an author that stands out from the crowd with her witty writing and fun characters and enjoyable plot. Extraordinary Means is a very entertaining book but will leave you heartbroken at the end, get the tissues at the ready.

Have you read Extraordinary Means? Did you like it? Leave your comments below.

Hope you enjoyed this review.

See you soon,

Amy

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Favourite Graphic Novels & Manga of 2021

As I have read a lot of books this year, I always want to give graphic novels and manga their own celebration as they often get overlooked and do make up a lot of my reading. I also find that even though I read a lot of them, it takes a lot to convince me and make it a new favourite. So here are my best... Heartstopper Volume 4 by Alice Oseman  Like everyone on the internet, I too am a massive Heartstopper fan and Volume 4 is no different. I love the relationship of Nick and Charlie and the side characters also make the series. This one also explores the way that mental health can impact romance and it still does justice to the story and does not fall into cliches. I am eagerly anticipating the final volume but I don't want it to be over.  The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott by Zoe Thorogood One of the last graphic novels I read this year and the one that has the second amount of hype, The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott also leaves a lasting impression. I love a good Briti

Book Review: The Crossing by Manjeet Mann

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: The Crossing Author: Manjeet Mann Publisher: Penguin  Source: NetGalley ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: The trailblazing new novel from the Carnegie Medal shortlisted author of Run, Rebel. Praise for Run, Rebel - a Guardian best book of 2020: A tightly crafted series of punchy, often heartbreaking narrative poems . . . Mann's brilliant, coruscating verse novel lays out the anatomy of Amber's revolution, and the tentative first flowerings of hope and change. Guardian A trailblazing new novel about two teenagers from opposite worlds; The Crossing is a profound story of hope, grief, and the very real tragedies of the refugee crisis. Natalie's world is falling apart. She's just lost her mum and her brother marches the streets of Dover full of hate and anger. Swimming is her only refuge. Sammy has fl

Blog Tour: Goddess Aditi: Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review * Title:  Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You   Authors: Ann Shen Source: Blog Tour Publisher: Abram  Rating: 4/5 stars ( Goodreads | Amazon) Book Summary: Throughout History comes this lushly illustrated book of goddesses from around the world. Aphrodite, the Greek goddess whose love overcame mortality. Mazu, the Chinese deity who safely guides travelers home. Lakshmi, the Hindu provider of fortune and prosperity. These powerful deities and many more are celebrated in gorgeous artwork and enlightening essays that explore the feminine divine and encourage readers to empower themselves. Ann Shen's signature watercolors make Legendary Ladies a unique, gift-worthy homage to the mighty women within. As part of this blog tour, each post will focus on a specific "Legendary Lady" or Goddess and for my stop, I will focus on A