Skip to main content

Three Hallows Book Club August Post: 5 Reasons To Read The Paper & Hearts Society by Lucy Powrie

So this month, the book that we all have been reading The Paper & Hearts Society by Lucy Powrie. Instead of doing a full book review, here are five reasons why you should read the book...

Number 5: Great For The Summer

Even though summer is on its way out, The Paper & Hearts Society is perfect for this time of year with the summery plotline based around road trips. If not I can still picture myself curling around the fire wishing that I could reread the book again. 

Number 4: It's funny


The book tackles some really hard-hitting issues such as toxic friendships and bullying which I definitely did not expect when I first read heard about it about, but it handles the issues really well. I feel like to counter this, Lucy does incorporate some humour into the book. At YALC, she said that it was writing what she thought was funny in the book and it definitely paid off as I found myself laughing throughout.

Number 3: The Characters


So there are a lot of characters in TPAHS and all of them are great, except you know the one that you are not meant to like. From Tabby to Ed to Cassie to Olivia to Henry, all of the characters are so lovable and I can't wait to read more about them in the sequel. Weird opinion but I o just really love Ed.

Number 2: Road Trip!

So like a lot of bookish people I love a good road trip book but TPAHS takes it a little bit further as it is a bookish road trip. I loved seeing the different location especially Bath as I had been there the year before but I loved reading all of the locations. It was just great!

Number 1: A Book about books


As well as a good road trip book, I love a good bookish book and this is what TPAHS is. From all of the different references from Angus, Thongs to Nimona to a mention of Alice Oseman, I was just so in love with all of the references and I would have dreamed of a book like this when I was a teenager and am still happy it exists today!

Here is a summary of the book...


The Paper & Hearts Society (The Paper & Hearts Society #1)

A brand new series from Booktuber Lucy Powrie - about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in and let your weird out! It's time to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... 

Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in. She doesn't want to go to parties - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book.

It's like she hasn't found her people ...

Then Tabby joins a club that promises to celebrate books. What could go wrong? EVERYTHING - especially when making new friends brings out an AWKWARD BUZZING feeling all over her body.

But Olivia, Cassie, Henry and Ed have something that makes Tabby come back. Maybe it's the Austen-themed fancy-dress parties or Ed's fluffy cat Mrs Simpkins, or could it be Henry himself ...

Can Tabby let her weird out AND live THE BEST BOOKISH LIFE POSSIBLE?

Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.
 



Check out the other members of The Three Hallows Book Club here:





Have you read The Paper & Hearts Society? Do you want to? Let me know in the comments below. 

See you soon,

Amy

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Goddess Aditi: Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review * Title:  Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You   Authors: Ann Shen Source: Blog Tour Publisher: Abram  Rating: 4/5 stars ( Goodreads | Amazon) Book Summary: Throughout History comes this lushly illustrated book of goddesses from around the world. Aphrodite, the Greek goddess whose love overcame mortality. Mazu, the Chinese deity who safely guides travelers home. Lakshmi, the Hindu provider of fortune and prosperity. These powerful deities and many more are celebrated in gorgeous artwork and enlightening essays that explore the feminine divine and encourage readers to empower themselves. Ann Shen's signature watercolors make Legendary Ladies a unique, gift-worthy homage to the mighty women within. As part of this blog tour, each post will focus on a specific "Legendary Lady" or Goddess and for my stop, I will focus on A

Female Representation in Harry Potter: A Transcription

Considering this keeps gaining attention, I just wanted to clarify that I no longer support J.K. Rowling and the Harry Potter series. I'm not sure why people are clicking on this but, the views in this post do not reflect my current views and I only posted it on my blog so that it could be shared as not many people came to the event when it first happened.  So later today, in 2 hours I am going to be doing a presentation on Female Representation in Harry Potter for my university's Harry Potter Society and I thought some of you may be interested in what I had to say. I also respect that people may disagree with my views on the subject and understand that this is not the only opinion you can have. So here it is... Hello, everyone. Thank you for coming! Today I am going to discuss female representation in Harry Potter books and films. The aims of this presentation would be to introduce you to the fact that female representation in Harry Potter may not be what it seems. So you

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review * Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source:  From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating:  2/5 stars Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from  Goodreads : With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-ExupĂ©ry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe.  Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his