Skip to main content

Posts

Book Review: The Upper World by Femi Fadugba

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: The Upper World Author: Femi Fadugba Publisher: Penguin Source: Bought Myself ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: Esso is running out of time and into trouble. After he is accidentally caught up in a gang war, he is haunted by a vision of a bullet fired in an alleyway with devastating consequences. A generation later, fifteen-year-old football prodigy Rhia is desperately searching for answers—and a catastrophic moment from the past holds the key to understanding the parents she never got to meet. Whether on the roads of South London or in the mysterious Upper World, Esso and Rhia''s fates must collide. And when they do, a race against the clock will become a race against time itself... Book Review: This book has been quite hyped up already before its release but also now that it has been released and for g

Book Review: An Absolutely Remarkable Thing & A Beautiful And Foolish Endeavour by Hank Green

* I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title:   An Absolutely Remarkable Thing & A Beautiful And Foolish Endeavour Author: Hank Green Publisher: Trapeze  Source: Netgalley/Bought Myself ( Bookshop UK  |  Hive  |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: In his wildly entertaining debut novel, Hank Green—cocreator of Crash Course, Vlogbrothers, and SciShow—spins a sweeping, cinematic tale about a young woman who becomes an overnight celebrity before realizing she’s part of something bigger, and stranger, than anyone could have possibly imagined. The Carls just appeared.   Roaming through New York City at three a.m., twenty-three-year-old April May stumbles across a giant sculpture. Delighted by its appearance and craftsmanship—like a ten-foot-tall Transformer wearing a suit of samurai armor—April and her best friend, Andy, make a video with it, which Andy uploads to YouTube. The next day,

Would You Rather by Katie Heaney: Questioning Queerness

 This is the final review from my backlog and for good reason because this book made me question a lot of things. Probably the perfect and not so perfect book for someone who has always thought about their sexuality.  I think that is the thing, this book is based on the premise that Katie Heaney discovered that she likes women and is a lesbian in her late 20s after she thought she was straight. It also deconstructs the idea that women often find themselves coming out at a later age due to the stigma of the word lesbian and identifying as such.  As a person who has not thought they were straight since they were 17 this is not something that I have ignored. I remember potentially liking someone at school when I was 17 after she got a haircut. I just brushed it off though because I couldn't fancy a girl.  At the same time though I thought I fancied boys. (I no longer think I fancy boys.) This all changed when thought I quite liked the idea of living with a woman in a co-habit relation

Book Review: Here Is The Beehive by Sarah Crossan

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: Here is the Beehive Author: Sarah Crossan Publisher: Bloomsbury Source: NetGalley ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: A brilliantly original debut about a love affair cut short, and how lonely it is to live inside a secret -- for fans of Sally Rooney, Sheila Heti, and Ottessa Moshfegh. Ana Kelly can deal with death. As an estate lawyer, an unfortunate part of her day-to-day is phone calls from the next of kin informing her that one of her clients has died. But nothing could have prepared Ana for the call from Rebecca Taylor, explaining in a strangely calm tone that her husband Connor was killed in an accident. Ana had been having an affair with Connor for three years, keeping their love secret in hotel rooms, weekends away, and swiftly deleted text messages. Though consuming, they hide their love well, and nobody

Book Review: Punching The Air by Ibi Zoboi & Yusef Salaam

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: Punching The Air Author: Ibi Zoboi & Yusef Salaam  Publisher: HarperCollins Source: NetGalley ( Bookshop UK |  Hive  |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: The story that I thought was my life didn’t start on the day I was born Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, he’s seen as disruptive and unmotivated by a biased system. Then one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighbourhood escalates into tragedy. “Boys just being boys” turns out to be true only when those boys are white. The story that I think will be my life starts today Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal’s bright future is upended: he is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his s

Book Review: Counting Stars by Keris Stainton

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: Counting Stars Author: Keris Stainton Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Netgalley ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: Big city, big dreams, no money, no problem... Six 'friends', one flat, big dreams... what could go wrong? When eighteen-year-old Anna leaves school and moves to Liverpool, she feels like her life is finally beginning. She's landed her dream job at a theatre, and she's moving into an exciting (if not slightly run-down) flat on a buzzing street lined with shops, bars, and buskers. Best of all, her new flatmates are kind, welcoming and a lot of fun - what more could she ask for? But although her new life is fun, it's also a little overwhelming. Anna's job quickly falls through, and then she realises that although her new friends are great, they're also a little mixed-up... an

Book Review: The Bookshop Girl by Chloe Coles

  * I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. * Title: The Bookshop Girl Author: Chloe Coles Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Netgalley  ( Bookshop UK |  Hive |  Goodreads  |  Storygraph ) Book Summary: A hilarious tale of female friendship, bookshops and fighting for a cause - perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Louise Rennison. Bennett's Bookshop has always been a haven for sixteen-year-old Paige Turner. It's a place where she can escape from her sleepy hometown, hang out with her best friend, Holly, and also earn some money. But, like so many bookshops, Bennett's has become a 'casualty of the high street' - it's strapped for cash and going to be torn down. Paige is determined to save it but mobilising a small town like Greysworth is no mean feat. Time is ticking - but that's not the only problem Paige has. How is she going to fend off the attractions of beautiful fel