Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren Book Review

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *

Title: Prisoner of Ice and Snow
Author: Ruth Lauren 
Source: From Publisher 
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Rating: 4/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)











Book Summary from Goodreads:


Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.
But that's exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.
No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison ...
An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable. 

Book Review:

When I first heard about Prisoner of Ice and Snow I was definitely intrigued especially as the book has been described as Prison Break meets Six of Crows or Frozen..which is pretty interesting especially as it is labelled as a Middle-Grade book. Prisoner of Ice and Snow does deliver on this promises showing a character driven prison break out book which easily blurs the boundaries of YA and Middle Grade.

To be honest, I didn't really have any problems with the book itself but one of the things that did let the book down for me was the format on Netgalley as when I finished the book, the file still told me that still had 2 hours left so I was left disappointed because I thought there was going to be some massive reveal and then it just ended and the things that I wanted to happen just didn't however there is a sequel but when I read the book I was slightly disappointed about this but it is not really the book's fault.

This book is also character driven and we are basically thrown straight into the plot of the story as Valor attempts to murder a prince to save her sister. It is therefore really nice to see the book evolve by seeing who she meets and how they ended up being included in the story. The story kept me entertained throughout and I did not know what would happen and was kept in suspense throughout which often made it have a mystery element to it because you don't know why Valor's sister was framed into stealing the music box. Although I did really enjoy the plot and that it did deal with breaking out from a prison, you have to ask how 4 teenagers manage what they do in the book.


I also really enjoyed the characters in the book especially but also the relationships in the book as they often did become more developed throughout and were not what you thought they were.
The Verdict:
Prisoner of Ice and Snow is a quick and interesting fantasy story that will
capture the imaginations of both YA and MG audiences alike.

Have you read

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Goddess Aditi: Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review * Title:  Legendary Ladies: 50 Goddesses To Empower and Inspire You   Authors: Ann Shen Source: Blog Tour Publisher: Abram  Rating: 4/5 stars ( Goodreads | Amazon) Book Summary: Throughout History comes this lushly illustrated book of goddesses from around the world. Aphrodite, the Greek goddess whose love overcame mortality. Mazu, the Chinese deity who safely guides travelers home. Lakshmi, the Hindu provider of fortune and prosperity. These powerful deities and many more are celebrated in gorgeous artwork and enlightening essays that explore the feminine divine and encourage readers to empower themselves. Ann Shen's signature watercolors make Legendary Ladies a unique, gift-worthy homage to the mighty women within. As part of this blog tour, each post will focus on a specific "Legendary Lady" or Goddess and for my stop, I will focus on A

Female Representation in Harry Potter: A Transcription

Considering this keeps gaining attention, I just wanted to clarify that I no longer support J.K. Rowling and the Harry Potter series. I'm not sure why people are clicking on this but, the views in this post do not reflect my current views and I only posted it on my blog so that it could be shared as not many people came to the event when it first happened.  So later today, in 2 hours I am going to be doing a presentation on Female Representation in Harry Potter for my university's Harry Potter Society and I thought some of you may be interested in what I had to say. I also respect that people may disagree with my views on the subject and understand that this is not the only opinion you can have. So here it is... Hello, everyone. Thank you for coming! Today I am going to discuss female representation in Harry Potter books and films. The aims of this presentation would be to introduce you to the fact that female representation in Harry Potter may not be what it seems. So you

Book Review: S. T. A. G. S. by M. A. Bennett

Title: S. T. A. G. S. Author: M. A. Bennett  Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Bought Myself Rating: 4/5 stars ( Amazon | Goodreads ) Book Summary: Nine students. Three bloodsports. One deadly weekend. It is the autumn term and Greer MacDonald is struggling to settle into the sixth form at the exclusive St. Aidan the Great boarding school, known to its privileged pupils as S.T.A.G.S. Just when she despairs of making friends Greer receives a mysterious invitation with three words embossed upon on it: huntin' shootin' fishin'. When Greer learns that the invitation is to spend the half term weekend at the country manor of Henry de Warlencourt, the most popular and wealthy boy at S.T.A.G.S., she is as surprised as she is flattered. But when Greer joins the other chosen few at the ancient and sprawling Longcross Hall, she realises that Henry's parents are not at home; the only adults present are a cohort of eerily compliant servants. The student